View CalendarView Calendar
CEI Interdisciplinary Seminar: Tobin J. Marks, Department of Chemistry and the Materials Research Center, Northwestern University
CEI Interdisciplinary Seminar: Tobin J. Marks, Department of Chemistry and the Materials Research Center, Northwestern University
WhenTuesday, May 13, 2014, 4 – 5 p.m.
Event typesLectures/Seminars
Event sponsorsClean Energy Institute

Interface Science of Organic Photovoltaics

The ability to fabricate molecularly tailored interfaces with nanoscale precision offers means to selectively modulate charge transport, molecular assembly, and exciton dynamics at hard matter-soft matter and soft-soft matter interfaces.  Such interfaces can facilitate transport of the “correct charges” while blocking transport of the “incorrect charges” at the electrode-active layer interfaces of organic photovoltaic cells.  This interfacial tailoring can also suppress carrier-trapping defect densities at interfaces and stabilize them with respect to physical/thermal de-cohesion.  For soft matter-soft matter interfaces, interfacial tailoring can also facilitate exciton scission and photocurrent generation in such cells. 

In this lecture, challenges and opportunities in organic photovoltaic interface science are illustrated for four specific and interrelated areas of research:  1) controlling charge transport across hard matter(electrode)-soft matter interfaces in organic photovoltaic cells, 2) controlling charge transport by specific active layer orientational organization at electrodes, 3) controlling exciton dynamics and carrier generation at donor-acceptor interfaces in the active layer, 4) designing transparent conducting electrodes with improved properties.  It will be seen that such rational interface engineering along with improved bulk-heterojunction polymer structures guided by theoretical/computational analysis affords exceptional fill factors, solar power conversion efficiencies greater than 9%, and enhanced cell durability

Tobin J. Marks Biosketch

Tobin Marks is Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University, and Distinguished Adjunct Professor at Texas A&M Qatar and at Korea University.  He received a B.S. degree in Chemistry from the University of Maryland (1966) and Ph.D. from MIT (1971) in Inorganic Chemistry.  His research interests include transition metal and f element organometallic chemistry; catalysis; vibra¬tional spectroscopy; nuclear magnetic resonance; synthetic facsimiles of metallo¬protein active sites; carcinostatic metal complexes; solid state chemistry and low-dimensional molecular metals; nonlinear optical materials; polymer chemistry; tetrahydroborate coordination chemistry; macrocycle coordination chemistry; laser-induced chemistry and isotope separation; molecular electro-optics;  metal-organic chemical vapor deposition; polymerization catalysis; printed flexible electronics; solar energy; and transparent conductors.

Marks has received American Chemical Society National Awards in Polymeric Materials, 1983; Organometallic Chemistry, 1989; Inorganic Chemistry, 1994; Chemistry of Materials, 2001; Distinguished Service in Inorganic Chemistry, 2008; Organic Chemistry (Cope Senior Scholar), 2010; Catalysis (Somorjai), 2013.  He received the 2000  American Chemical Society Cotton Medal; 2001 American Chemical Society Willard Gibbs Medal; 2001 N. American Catalysis Society Burwell Award; 2001 American Chemical Society Linus Pauling Medal; 2002 American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal; 2003 German Chemical Society Karl Ziegler Prize; 2004 Royal Society of Chemistry Frankland Medal, 2005  American Chemical Society Bailar Medal; Member, U. S. National Academy of Sciences (1993); Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1993), Member, German National Academy of Sciences (2005); Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (2005); US National Medal of Science (2007); Fellow, Chemical Research Society of India (2008); Fellow, Materials Research Society (2009):  Honorary Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences (2010). He received the 2008 Spanish Principe de Asturias Prize for Scientific Research; 2009 N. American Catalysis Society Pines Award; 2009 Taylor Materials Research Award, Penn. State U.; 2009 Von Hippel Award, Materials Research Society; 2010  American Chemical Society Nichols Medal; 2010 Distinguished Affiliated Professor Award and Wilhelm Manchot Prize, Technical U. of Munich; 2010 American Chemical Society Mosher Award; 2011 Schulich Prize, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology; 2011 Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences; 2012 American Chemical Society Richards Medal; the 2012 National Academy of Sciences Award in the Chemical Sciences; member, National Academy of Engineering, 2012; Distinguished Alumni Award and Election, Circle of Discovery, University of Maryland, 2012; American Chemical Society Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis, 2012; Alan G. MacDiarmid Medal, University of Pennsylvania, 2013.

He received Doctor of Science degrees honoris causa, from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology in 2011, the University of South Carolina in 2011, and the Ohio State University in 2012.
Peer-reviewed publications: 1115; h-index = 128 (on 61,200 citations); Issued US Patents: 223…
View CalendarView CalendarPrintPrint
Events calendar powered by Trumba